You may have heard that the ever-changing social networking site Facebook is changing once again. A few weeks ago Facebook announced that all of its user’s profiles will be changed to the timeline layout and that the old profile layout will soon no longer be an option. Well, in even bigger news, today Facebook announced that the change will happen in just 7 days. For those of you that don’t know, the timeline feature of Facebook will allow your friends to see your status updates and photographs from as far back as 2004 when the social networking site was created. Even though Facebook insists that the changes will not affect the privacy settings of its users, people have become worried about just how much of their information Facebook will make accessible to their friends.
In response, Facebook is allowing users to use that 7 days before the timeline feature goes live on their website to remove anything from their profile that they may not want others to see from when they first joined Facebook. I don’t know about you guys, but that really doesn’t offer me a peace of mind. I was a sophomore or junior in high school when I first joined Facebook and I’m sure I may have posted some things that I would not want bought back up today. Not only do I feel as though the new timeline feature is a risk to privacy, but it is also sort of all over the place and confusing to use.
Like many of you, I enjoy using Facebook. I use it daily, so it’s a bit frustrating that every time I get used to a new feature Facebook decides to make an unnecessary change that doesn’t seem to do anything but confuse its users. I think someone needs to remind Facebook of the phrase “If it ain’t broke don’t fix it.”