Trading in My Boots for My Bikini!

I know we are all anxious and itching to get out of this place. By the end of next week, this semester will be finito! It’s incredible how quickly these 15 some-odd weeks flew by.

While I’m looking forward to going home to spend time with loved ones, work and (hopefully) sleep in some, I’m looking forward to the Spring semester even more, because I’ll finally, FINALLY be studying abroad!

Come February, I’ll leave the states and move to Queensland until July! Yes, I’ll be trading the drudgery of Misery’s winter for the end of Australia’s summer and start of autumn.

My soon-to-be backyard!

I’m eager to officially start this experience-to see these last six months’ work and saving pay off. I’ve already grown so much as a person, and I haven’t even left yet! In addition to personal growth, I’m looking to growing as a PR professional. I’m very curious to see how American public relations compares to public relations in the Land Down Under (even though I am taking mostly journalism courses).

I hope this post will not invoke jealousy, rather encourage YOU to study abroad. Our university does a spectacular job making study abroad affordable and doable; especially if you participate in one of the direct exchange programs (which is what I’m doing). All I have to say is, if you want it bad enough, there’s always a way!

Wow–it’s crazy to think I’ll be a SENIOR when I come back. Speaking of seniors, here’s an early congrats to everyone who will be graduating (or at least walking : ) ) next semester: I won’t be here, but congratulations and good luck out there!

I will be starting a travel blog (as advised by Mr. Shawn Arni with Children’s Mercy) sometime in January too, so if you want to follow me & read of my adventures of jet lag, diving in the Great Barrier Reef, meandering to New Zealand, etc., you’re more than welcome.

CHEERS!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trading in My Boots for My Bikini!

  1. mmq99030 says:

    So excited for you! I’ll be a just a few continents away, hanging out in Europe for the semester, so I can fathom your excitement. These last two weeks of school cannot go fast enough! Make sure to post a link to your study abroad blog!

  2. Cool. Which town in Queensland will you be studying in?

  3. ryanmarler says:

    Very cool. Be sure to hit up Anna Jones if she’s in that neck of the woods.

  4. Oh don’t worry Ryan, I am! I’ve been asking her advice and stuff. 🙂 The semester I’ll be there is her last semester there so, I’ll get to see her! 😀

  5. Keri Cerda says:

    I am so ridiculously jealous of you.

    I really like the idea of the travel blog. I think it will definitely be an interesting topic to be able to write about and it will give you the chance to talk about all of the new things that you are going to be able to do. I also think it will increase your value in the PR field becasue it show that you’re taking the initiative to do it, you’re showing off your writing abilities and the trip itself shows that you are willing to try new things.

Leave a Reply

