Controversial Campaign, good in my opinion

One day when I was checking my email, I came across this article

on yahoo news. It is a similar to life drawing of a baby sleeping in an adult bed next to a butcher knife. The caption indicates that your baby sleeping with you (the parents) can be as dangerous as him sleeping with a dangerous household item.

I have long time been an advocate for NOT co-sleeping, especially due to the risk of SIDS (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome), suffocation, and death. This could partly stem from my stint at a day care, but also from knowing two separate families personally who were affected by SIDS (but not because of co-sleeping).

There was a big movement back in the 90s called “Back to Sleep Campaign” which encouraged parents to put their babies on their backs to sleep, and bellies to play, to reduce the risk of SIDS.

Some people in the article noted they have been co-sleeping, with no harm. Natural parenting Web sites actually advocate co-sleeping because it is more natural, and easier on a nursing mother.

Baby product manufacturers have dealt with SIDS for decades and have began making mattresses that are firm, cribs that are safe, all of which help with reducing SIDS deaths. There are also products like bassinets and “co-sleepers” which attach the side of an adult bed that can be a good alternative to the baby being in bed with its parents.

I think its dangerous. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Controversial Campaign, good in my opinion

  1. I’ve never given much thought to co-sleeping, which is interesting because I work with little ones and can’t wait to have several of my own one day!

    I did some research after reading your blog to get a little more acquainted with the disease (I only know the basics). I can’t even begin to imagine how devastating it’d be to endure that type of loss-that type of grief.

    I usually consider myself a fan of the “more natural, the better” approach to parenting/medicine (skin to skin contact, breast feeding, etc.) so I understand co-sleeping. I also, however, think I’m going to be overly cautious with my children and would be far too nervous to have my infant in bed with me. I vote the alternative, in-between option: the attachments for your bed sound like a wonderful idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

