Punctuality? What’s that?

Everyone, I have a serious problem. I am always late! This is a terrible terrible habit and I have recently started realizing I need to cure it. I’m late to class frequently but I think the reason is because it’s not like when I have a job and being late isn’t an option. Money is a motivator; sad but true.

The main reason I can’t seem to be on time is because I don’t ever wanna leave my bed. I guess this probably sounds pathetic, lazy, and almost sad, but I can’t help but stay up late. And most of the time it’s not by choice. Between homework and practice/games, I never get the opportunity to go to bed early. So far I’ve come up with a few steps to help me with this awful issue:

-Stop trying to knock out all homework in one night. I’m going to start dividing up my homework when possible and doing it throughout the week.

-Don’t save homework for the evening. I have this weird issue with doing homework during the day. I’m not sure when or why this started but it’s something I need to get past. If I have time during the day, I should use it.

-Do my absolute best to get at least 8 hours of sleep to avoid oversleeping. The best way to do this is by following my first few rules, as well as setting multiple alarms. Just in case!

-Use my planner! I am so bad at this! I have the WORST memory ever and this planner thing could potentially help me. Honestly it comes down to laziness. NO MORE!

-Somehow, I want to set all my clocks forward 10 minutes. The trouble with this though is that I always remember I did it and when Im behind Im just like “Oh its fine, my clock is ten minutes fast.” I’ll get back to you if I figure out how to accomplish this one…

Just trying to stay afloat these last few weeks! I am burnt out, bored, lazy, unproductive, sleepy, unmotivated, and overall, feeling pretty pathetic. SO looking forward to Thanksgiving break and even more so, Christmas. If anyone has any motivators or solutions, feel free to share! Have a happy week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Punctuality? What’s that?

  1. The planner save my life. I write everything – I mean EVERYTHING. It is kind of sad actually, I usually have times written on when I will do everything. It just keeps me organized. Also, I will set alarms in my phone for when I need to complete and/or start certain tasks. I never get enough sleep, so that idea is not going to happen.

    Hang in there, the semester is almost over!

  2. Keri Cerda says:

    I have this issue too. It’s seemed to get really bad this past year. It seems I’m almost always late(to my first class.) But in the 3 years I’ve worked as an OA I’ve been late 4 times. Two were my first week on the job and I wasn’t used to the hours. Car issues on the third, and then my THREE alarms did not wake me last Friday. I felt absolutely horrible on that one. And I definitely have to agree about the money being motivation, but also the responsibility. With the job I have, if I’m late the person at the desk has to stay until I get there. And if it becomes a recurring thing I lose my job, which is the money thing.

    I tried setting my alarm to go off 10 minutes earlier, but I just snooze it for 10 minutes longer. It something that I’m trying to work on as well.

Leave a Reply

