public relations and job hunting

For those of you who aren’t aware I’m (hopefully**fingers crossed!!!) graduating in December, just under a month away. And only 3 weeks of that is actual classes. The rest is thanksgiving break time. Needless to say, I am feverishly looking for a full-time job to start after I graduate.

My minor is in public relations. When I have been looking at PR and Marketing Agencies, I find it is especially to get in if you don’t already have an “in.” Most require previous agency experience–not just general work experience. Which begs the age-old question, “How are you supposed to get experience if every employer requires experience before they will employ you?”

Maybe my timing is bad. This is the 4th Quarter for most companies. They are gearing down for the year, at the bottom of their budgets. Planning holiday parties and not hiring people like me. I though I would be ‘ahead of the crowd’, so to speak, by graduating early. But I don’t feel ahead.

My recommendation to those of you still a semester or two away from graduation would be to get an internship at a PR agency or firm. That way, you have pre-existing agency experience when you go to apply for a full-time job. This advice may have helped me.

Good luck to you all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to public relations and job hunting

  1. ryanmarler says:

    Heck, Fleishman Hillard even requires previous internship experience before you can intern with them. Good luck!

  2. That’s definitely a frustrating qualification for fresh grads, I’m sure. I’m not particularly looking forward to stepping out of the classroom and into the “grownup” world. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

