Have You Interned Yet?

As you all know, we have to have an internship to graduate. I’m interning this semester with a non-profit organization. With only four or five weeks left to intern, I think I can say that I definitely don’t want to work in non-profit.

I think my biggest reason is that since we don’t make money, I’ve been mostly trying to secure donations and stuff like that. I still have to write news releases, pitch events, and give presentations, but I would like to do more of that. But like one of the ladies at pro day said, in non-profit you have to wear lots of hats and do a little bit of everything that goes on with the organization. I’ve done just about everything in the office, except for paying the bills to keep the lights on.

I’m thinking that when I start looking for jobs, I’m going to look more into corporate and agency jobs. I just don’t think I have the heart for non-profit. Not to mention, I’m driven by money more than “warm fuzzies”.

For those of you who have interned, what was your experience like? I know a few of you have had multiple internships; if you’ve done one non-profit and one non-non-profit(?), what did you like and dislike about the two? Which did you prefer. Thank you in advance.

About ryanmarler

I paint the sky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Have You Interned Yet?

  1. scottspiegel says:

    I interned with the marketing department for Jersey Mike’s Subs. I had a fantastic experience with my whole internship. I got to live in Point Pleasant Beach, NJ all summer (2 minute walk from the beach) so that was a plus. I really enjoyed everything I did for the company, I really like the idea of working in the marketing area. It seemed to tickle my fancy a little bit more than PR.

  2. amber0125 says:

    It’s a good thing I like hats. I haven’t actually had my internship yet, but am doing it next semester. You’ve got me feeling a bit nervous as I will be interning for a non-profit organization. I wouldn’t say I’m driven by “warm fuzzies,” but I do feel that I might enjoy a non-profit. Hopefully my internship won’t be too miserable and thank you for sharing. You’ve given me something to think about.

    • ryanmarler says:

      Mine’s not really miserable. Just not something I’d like to do as a career. I’m sure you’ll be fine if you like non-profit. I just did non-profit to ensure i graduate with an internship.

Leave a Reply

