Back to the Basics

When I sat down to write my blog for this week I was going to write about stress relievers, that is until I started typing in Word. I always type my blog first in a Word document so I don’t get distracted on the internet and to correct spelling mistakes.  I have never been the best speller so I use every method I can to try and proof-read, yes this does include Word. The only problem with Word is when it decides to auto-correct what you are trying to type and it auto-corrects as the wrong word. I will admit that when I proof-read I don’t catch all of my mistakes and that is because I read the paper the way it is supposed to be written or what I think it says, not what it really says. In this case, technology is great because it does help with the spelling and grammar, but I think we all need to remember that technology can only help so much.

Take math for example, after working concession stands for PRSSA I was reminded how much our generation relies on calculators. We are taught the basics, addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division, but then we are given the technology to further the use of those basics. When you ask someone to give you the square root of 25, all you have to do is type in 25 and hit the square root key and you come up with the answer of 5. There is another way of doing this though, a square root is simply the same number multiplied by its self. 25 is an easy number because we know that 5 multiplied by 5 is 25, so the square root of 25 is indeed 5. Now take 225. What multiplied by its self is 225? The answer is 15. (I did use a calculator, so the process wouldn’t take as long to figure this out though.)

It is the same thing with writing. In college we are asked to write a 5 page paper and we sit down and type a paper. We could not write that paper if we did not know how to first write in sentences. This is where it comes down to our ABC’s and earlier education. I think we all would benefit if we had to review some of these basics because without technology we wouldn’t have more than the basics.

I am interested in what you all think.

About hannahkrhoad

A Public Relations Major at the University of Central Missouri with a passion for voluntering & traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the Basics

  1. I hate math, a lot. We do need to rely on the basics, like spelling for example. This is not a strong point for me, I feel like if it was not for spell check I would look like a complete idiot. There are little rules I forget, and this isn’t just with spelling but with grammer too, and I shouldn’t be.

    Maybe before we graduate we should take a class over the basics again, because if you asked me to answer math questions that had to do with more than basic addition or subtraction, I would be up a creek!

Leave a Reply

