Four weeks to go. Finish strong.

It is around the time of the year that I have no motivation to do anything. And the weather is not helping.

Throughout years of being in school, I have heard about a lot of good tips and strategies to help with procrastination. Unfortunately, sometimes I get into the super-slump-mode that even thinking to make any positive changes seems too difficult. But school work has been driving me crazy and deadlines are coming at me, and I realized it is time to break out of a slump.

My first baby step – Inventory
– Yes, we all procrastinate in different styles. What is your major excuse from being productive?

My procrastination style:
1) Took a nap, talked to friends, watched some TV, but I just don’t want to do homework
2) Finally … time to finish the paper! No, let’s creep on Facebook first
3) Homework … Facebook… Homework … e-mail … Homework… food
4) Homework … Homework … Homework … then reward myself with food and TV; and now back to homework? NO!

Take one baby step at a time.
– We often have the fear of being buried with all the papers, test, and projects that we have to do. I believe we all had the experience of staying up late to take on finishing two papers or studying for a test. But it is the most common mistake we all make—we try to do too much at once. Choose one goal per day. If you feel good enough, do two. I think I am getting old to pay the price for an all-nighter.

Peer pressure could be a good use.
– Sometimes it is hard not to get distracted when accomplishing things alone. For me, as you see above, I get distracted by social media easily when I am alone. Find a friend to go on a library date with you. You will find guilt when you see him/her being productive while you are on Facebook!

Don’t give up.
– Stick with the motivation. Yes, I know, it seems difficult at times. I was so productive for a couple days, but now I am back to my normal slump days. You are not alone though. When you are having a hard time to get your day started, it could be because you are putting too much things on a to-do list. Aim one goal per day and build on small successes. Again, baby step, but keep walking.

About Eki

Specialties •Publicity •International Relations •Social media campaigns and strategies •Integrated marketing communications •Branding •Adobe Photoshop, InDesign and Illustrator •Vocus On-Demand software
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Four weeks to go. Finish strong.

  1. mwil89 says:

    Haha I needed to read this so bad! My life is like this currently and this blog was very useful for me, I really need some kind of motivation….

  2. ryanmarler says:

    I agree with this. But my best work seems to come when I procrastinate.

  3. samljohnson says:

    I have zero motivation left 😦 You can see that if you read my blog as well haha! I definitely like the one about using the buddy system though! Just make sure your buddy is motivated too otherwise you might both get distracted…

Leave a Reply

