Veterans Day

Today is not only a special day for me because it is my birthday, but it is Veterans Day!!! Today is Veterans Day, which is an annual national holiday in the United States honoring the Veterans. The holiday represents World War I and how it ended at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918, when the German signed the Armistice. Today is the day where we should thank the people who fight in wars to protect their country. For instance, people are fighting in a war right now in Afghanistan in order to protect the United States of America. “We support our troops” is a quote that we as Americans should be happy to say because without our troops where would the world be if no one was willing to fight for their country. My grandfather is a special person and he is a Veteran that fought in World War II, he served his country with no hesitation. He told me that when he was in war they fought with broom sticks they did not have a lot of massive weapons. With that being said we should honor the veterans as well as people who protect their country and there are plenty of ways that we can say thank you.

Do you use social media to thank the Veterans?

I have used social media to say thank you on Facebook the company has a post that people may comment on to give their thanks. People can also say thanks to a Veteran on twitter it is a trending topic. They have an online Veterans History Project so that future generations can hear directly from service member to get a better understanding of the war. The internet is a phenomenal source that we could use to go tell out Veterans how much we thank them for protecting and serving our country.

About richilajrand89

My name is Richila Rand. I am currently a senior at the University of Central Missouri. I am double majoring in Public Relations and Corporate Communication. Also, I am a Ronald E. McNair scholar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veterans Day

  1. I use social media to thank veterens for sure. I actually spent alot of the day to today getting on facebook and wishing everyone in the military I know a happy veterens day and I told them to be safe. Social media is a great way to connect soldiers to home when they are so far away. I wonder what it would have been like for soldiers during Vietnam to have facebook.

  2. samljohnson says:

    I agree! I use Twitter and Facebook to thank the Veterans. Also, not only on Veterans Day but on any day where I am somehow reminded of our military and lives lost, I will post a thank you. Its always nice to express appreciation for the brave men and women who protect our freedom.

Leave a Reply

