Reality TV is so not reality

Okay so for those of you who may not be close enough to me to know what I was up to this summer, I will fill you in. I tried out for DCC (Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders) and unfortunately I was cut in the final round before training camp. While it is a disappointment, it was also a huge feat for me. For those of you who don’t know, CMT has a reality show called Making the Team about the DCC. So naturally, the most nerve-wrecking part of my audition process? Cameras. I love having my picture taken, and as a dancer, Im used to performing, but national television!? Thats a whole new ball game. The point here though is really the content of the show in relation to my ACTUAL experience.

It is crazy how scary they make it look on the show. The coaches and judges all seem very nice in real-life. Although they are still intimidating, TV exaggerates that by a lot. The entire tryout process was exaggerated and drug out. It was already nerve-wrecking enough but then everytime you turn around they want you to “do that again” or “line up over here” “now we’re going to act like they just brought out the results of semi-finals! and… action!!” all the while Im about to pass out from nerves and they want us to scream like 12 times before they ACTUALLY bring out the results. Upon making it to finals I got to meet some of the returning members (and compete against them) and they just said how interesting it is the way they string clips together. Like so and so is getting lectured and then they cut to a scene of them crying but really it wasn’t even the same day or related to that situation at all. It’s just so interesting what is considered “reality” these days. And let’s not even start with shows like “The Bachelor” and “The Real World.” I don’t know about you but those are perfect depictions of what my life is like… Sarcasm intended.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reality TV is so not reality

  1. mmq99030 says:

    I always assumed reality programs were probably pretty far from true events, but it is crazy to hear a first hand account. It will definitely make me think twice when I watch anything on MTV in the future.

  2. richilajrand89 says:

    I knew that reality television was not real, but I did not know how they handle things. If you went through this I can only imagine how the people feel when they are on American Idol. It is all about acting, here you were a person who has a passion for dancing and they make you go through all of this mess it seems very over whelming. I wish you the best with your feature endeavors if you decide to go try out for another cheerleading team.

  3. hannahkrhoad says:

    This is a really interesting point of view. I think we all know that reality TV is more of a production than it should be but I didn’t realize how much a difference there was.

Leave a Reply

