Google, Youtube, and ads

I’m sure you all have noticed the ads that pop up on and to the right of Youtube videos. For those of you who do not know, they are provided by Google.

Have you ever actually paid attention to the ads that they put on certain videos? Most of the time, they do not make sense or relate to the video.

I have recently begun receiving ad revenue for my Youtube videos, and this lead me to start paying attention to the ads shown on videos. Most of the time they can be so irrelevant that I can do nothing but laugh. For instance, I was watching a video of a Slayer song the other day, and the ad for it was for the Mormon church. For those of you who do not get why I would laugh at this, familiarize yourself with Slayer; just look at the album names.

However, some ads are placed appropriately. I was watching a video of the song Call Me a Dog by Temple of the Dog, and the ad that was on the side was for Pearl Jam 20. This one is relevant because not only did one of the songs on the same album feature Eddie Vedder, Pearl Jam’s singer, but they were both big in the grunge era.

Some of the ads can be super hilarious! For instance, on my video of the fireworks show this past 4th of July, there was an ad for Astroglide… Need I say more?

Perhaps Google needs to do a better job of paying attention to the videos they place ads on. More people might click on the ads if they were relevant to what the viewer was watching.

About ryanmarler

I paint the sky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Google, Youtube, and ads

  1. Keri Cerda says:

    When you say “receiving revenue for,” do you mean that YouTube is *paying* you for the videos you have up? Sweet.

    I agree, some of the ads that I see on YouTube have nothing to do with anything of interest I have. However, the ones I see on Facebook almost always do, perhaps they should ask Facebook for some advice on making more of a connection with their viewers.

  2. kkoots says:

    Hilarious. I think that it would definitely make more sense for them to target their ads. Have you looked at other pages to see if their ads were more similar? I don’t see why they wouldn’t, because that would make people actually want to see the ad. Strange.

Leave a Reply

