NBA Lockout

Anyone remember that there is such a thing called the National Basketball Association? I almost forgot too. The NBA dominated sports last year with the “Super Team” of the Miami Heat. Now regardless of the fan, people are moving on to other sports, and not really looking back. The reason for this? There’s not enough time in the world to worry about other people’s personal lives.

The World Series has just ended, the NFL season is getting interesting, even college football! Yes, the NBA lockout is less than irrelevant, its become an event that not only the public does not want to hear about, but journalists do not want to write about. Similar to the NFL lockout, regular people do not want to hear about greedy owner’s/players argue about different opinions small differences regarding billions of dollars. Actually, people care so less about this, that they even will move on to another sport, and another sports, or even another hobby.

My point being is, sports is my life, however, if it comes down to lockouts, dollar amounts, and greed, count me out. The one thing that will never lockout is college sports, because everyone knows that college sports has the best paid athletes…allegedly.

About griffingatewood

Public Relations Major at Central Missouri University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NBA Lockout

  1. mmq99030 says:

    I think it is pretty difficult for people to relate to the complaints of athletes about their salaries, so people lose interest in the topic. I know I have a hard time feeling bad for them when I can barely afford the Ramen noodles I eat for dinner every night.

  2. I hate basketball. I also hate the obsession that seems to frequently surround particular sports or athletes. It is hard to feel sorry for someone who’s complaining about a salary cut, but are still well above a six-figure income. This past Monday, however, I got the chance to tag along the Chalk Talk event hosted by ESPN prior to the Monday Night Football game at Arrowhead (connections–Disney does own ESPN) :). Anyways, while I always complain about how much athletes are paid and how little teachers are paid, this behind-the-scenes peek made me aware of how many jobs the sports industry creates. So there are def. pros and cons.

  3. richilajrand89 says:

    I am a huge fan of basketball, and I wish that the lockout would end. I would have to agree with you that college sports will never die. As being a sports fan no one will have nothing to worry about because you still get to watch college sports on ESPN.

Leave a Reply

