My Future in PR

When I came to UCM I was originally a photography major. Before I even began the program, I knew it wasn’t for me. I told my advisor about my interests and she suggested PR. I enrolled in the intro class that semester. It was the hardest intro class I’ve taken in my three years here. (I’ve taken about 5 or so). After the class I wasn’t completely sold but I never wanted to be that person who was undecided as a junior. So I kept enrolling in PR courses and now here I am, a junior with only a few courses remaining in the program. Have I learned a lot? Yes. Am I completely and irrevocably passionate about it? Not so much.
This realization is slightly frightening and sad to me. I still try my best in class and on my work because of course I wanna be good at what I do, but I just don’t have that passion for it the way that I have a passion for dance. (But realistically, dance is not a winning career). I just think about my future in PR and can’t really imagine myself loving my job. I really hope and pray that I will find some aspect of my job that will keep me going or even just find a job that I like that maybe isn’t completely about PR. In no way is this blog intended to sound sad/depressing/pathetic but it is a true insight into my thoughts and reflections on my own choice of education. I know there are other students, maybe not in PR, but in college who have dealt with or are dealing with this realization. I just hope those of us without that burning passion can find it in our future somewhere.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Future in PR

  1. ryanmarler says:

    Don’t feel like you’re the only one who isn’t completely passionate about PR. I don’t have much PR spirit, but I still like it. I’m glad I switched. But since the work is so broad, I’m sure you’ll find an area of work you like.

  2. mmq99030 says:

    I understand where you are coming from, and it gets pretty annoying sometimes hearing people gush about being in love with their majors. But do not lose hope! At least you have chosen to pursue a degree that can be implemented in several different types of jobs. If you do not like your first or second career, you can always find something new.

  3. I’m sorry you don’t feel overly gung ho about PR! Dance is definitely one of those things you can keep up outside of your career. Luckily for you, your degree can be incorporated into practically any field (like others above were saying). I’d keep pursuing your passion for dance, but also stay open to the idea of getting involved on the other side dance. There is more than just performance! 🙂

  4. richilajrand89 says:

    I understand where you are coming from, when i first got to college I did not know what I wanted to do. I heard about PR and took some classes and I absolutely love it. I would not trade it for the world at all. I think that you will be able to find a good job, because the area is very broad.

  5. scottspiegel says:

    I’m on the same boat as you. I enjoy my major, however I am not very passionate about it. For me, it is just about getting the degree. I already know that my job following college is not related to the field of public relations. A lot of people end up with jobs that have nothing to do with their majors, you may end up somewhere you would never expect!

Leave a Reply

