A Rant

When I was younger, I remember thinking that I wanted to have a huge house and make tons of money when I grew up. As I’ve gotten older though, I have found that those two things really aren’t as important as they seemed back then. Today I feel that family and friends and many other things are incredibly more important than achieving some desired social or economic status.

Some people’s view of public relations is that it is really all about how much money can be made. In my opinion, it is more important to maintain your integrity and find something within public relations that can be rewarding and enjoyable. Now, if that can garner more funds, then that would be just an added bonus.

Lately I’ve been thinking about non-profit organizations and how crucial it is for them to have people that are passionate about what they’re doing and not just doing a job for the money. It is wonderful to think that there are opportunities within public relations that would be just the right fit for many who feel that way.

I’m sure there are many people who agree with me, and I’m just as sure that there are many who disagree. Either way, I just hope that I can find a job that I enjoy and can work hard at. In the end, as long as I am able to pay off my school loans and eat and survive, then it doesn’t really matter so much how much money I make.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Rant

  1. megromer says:

    It probably is true that people discredit non-profits due to the small salaries they may offer. But I do agree that having passion and joy in your work can make the difference between drudgery and excitement in the morning. I want to wake up for a job that I don’t need coffee for. I want to be okay with thinking about my job over the weekend…because I enjoy it so much. I do take a little bit different look on the money thing though. I consider money to be like oxygen. You need it to survive. But money is also what you use to pay your bills, fund your dreams and help out those you love. It helps if you have more.

Leave a Reply

