Grammer and speeling

First, I applaud those of you who noticed the two errors in my title (they were intentional).

*Disclaimer for the remainder of this blog: I am not perfect nor claiming to be perfect. Since I’m condemning grammar and spelling errors, it is highly likely I will have at least a handful of them somewhere within this text!*

For whatever reason, I was created to be meticulous about writing and its rules. I am a freak who loves (yes loves) all that is grammar and spelling related.

It’s ironic I’m so passionate about editing, because as a little girl (while I was home schooled) I would literally CRY if my mom handed me back a paper with any red ink on it! Red ink in those days was the enemy. Today, I’ve befriended the red pen. I even hold it myself.

During college, I learned that red ink on my writings didn’t necessarily signify full-blown failure; rather it was a chance to improve myself and my writing. While heavy markups imply some inadequacy, a lack of thoroughness, intelligence or what have you, they are also passageways that enable you to become a stronger writer. They also, of course, mean more work lies ahead. Improvement in any context, though, is not possible without hard work.

Looking at my eighth grade year book recently, I saw a friend had written, “You will always be the best writer in LA!” I thought it was cool my passion for writing has stuck with me for so long. Since the lunch-box days, I’ve been the go-to person for editing anything and everything. This unofficial role as “the editor” of my classes has definitely carried through to college. I constantly have friends calling me with grammar questions, e-mailing me their research papers, newspaper articles, press releases etc., asking for my input and advice. Although it is somewhat flattering, I do it for only two reasons:

1. I love, love, love doing it! Taking something mediocre and flawed then transforming it into something brilliant and pristine is a very rewarding feeling. I think my OCD, organized, “neat freak” and control tendencies are complemented and even relieved by the act of editing.

2. I become a better writer when I edit! Editing for others (and myself) only strengthens my writing abilities.

To finish this blog, I’ll quickly list a few personal pet peeves I have (in regards to writing errors) and how I think of them or remember how to try to not make them:

  • Subject/Verb agreement: I find myself doing this all of the time! It’s very simple: if you have a singular subject, you should complement it with a singular verb. Likewise, plural subjects go with plural verbs. A good example is earlier on in my blog I at first wrote… “While heavy markups imply…it is also a passageway.” See the problem? I’d either need to make “markups” singular (a markup) or alter my verb combo to be plural (they are also passageways). Looking back, you can see I chose the latter. Lengthy and intricately structured sentences make it easy to lack in tense consistency. I usually only catch this by rereading.
  • Apostrophes in dates and time periods: This is a rule I broke until I was made aware of it in college. When mentioning dates or time periods, an apostrophe is not always necessary. Writing “In the 1920s” is correct. Yes, even without the apostrophe you normally see (1920’s). If it was there, what would its purpose be? What would it be standing for? Also, writing “The 80’s had great music” is incorrect. The correct way to write that would be “The ’80s had great music” because the apostrophe before “80” is standing for “19”. The apostrophe following the 0 would indicate possession, when “had” already demonstrates that.
  • Commas: Odds are you either use too many or too few. READING ALOUD can help you decipher the natural flow of your writing and tell you where you may need another comma or two, or where you may need to eliminate some. Although commas are partially dependent on stylistic preferences, they are also mandatory in some sentence structure rules (such as placing a comma after an introductory clause or element).
Random writing tip for any general writing: By the third or fourth time you’re reading through something you’ve written (especially those lengthy pieces), it’s easy to get into a robotic state, unintentionally thinking, “This is the third time I’ve read this and I still don’t see any errors.” To avoid this, try reading it backwards. This helps make your brain more alert and less likely to skip over errors you could if you were reading ahead and not paying attention to the actual content because “you knew what was next.” I use this approach a lot and it helps!

I’d go on, but all of you have probably stopped reading by this point. Main idea to draw from this mini-grammar rant? Feel free to ask me to look at any writing pieces you may have. I can’t promise perfection, but I can promise heartfelt input. 🙂 Also, don’t settle as a mediocre writer! Challenge yourself to slowly implement rules you may struggle with into your writing and you’ll be surprised at how much room there is for your writing to grow! 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grammer and speeling

  1. mmq99030 says:

    The minute I see a grammar or spelling error, the piece I am reading immediately is extremely less credible, so I understand your pet peeves. In addition to PR, I am also a Spanish major. If you want to improve your grammar and writing as a whole, learn another language! Your skills will skyrocket. I have always had a knack for grammar, but I cannot even tell you how exponentially better my English became after becoming fluent in Spanish.

  2. I never thought that editing would make that big of a difference in my writing, but it absolutely has. I feel as though I understand grammar, punctuation and simple things such as subject/verb agreement 10x better since taking Copy Editing. It also has made my writing more precise. I don’t waste time over explaining things. Most of the time you do not need more words to define something, just the right words.

  3. ryanmarler says:

    It kills me when people use a comma instead of a period when writing in paragraph form. It’s not hard to understand the difference.

Leave a Reply

