Where’s the Beef?

Where’s the beef?!…between public relations practitioners and journalists? It is a known fact in our profession that journalists and PR practitioners don’t get along. This happens in many other industries with certain departments that work closely, but from everything I’ve seen, it’s kind of a one way kind of hatred.

I’ve heard quite a few journalists rag on PR professionals, but not really the other way around.  Why is it that journalists don’t like us be we don’t mind them? They get lots of stories from us and we get publicity from them, so shouldn’t it be a win-win situation?  I don’t see how they can not like us when we are constantly feeding them ideas for stories.

I feel that we need to work this thing out, journalists and PR practitioners should work together. I have a dream, that one day my children and a journalist’s children will play hand-in-hand. That we will live in a society where journalists and PR people will embrace each others differences! I know this is a bit over-dramatic, but you get my point.  Journalists need to cowboy up and realize that we are vital to their success and that we are not out to get them (obviously there may be some exceptions but again, you get my point).

About iantheawesome

I like drinking fresh, tasty beers and watching good movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where’s the Beef?

  1. amber0125 says:

    I like your passion! Oddly enough, I have heard similar remarks from journalists or journalism teachers and students that make it seem as though they don’t really hold PR practitioners in high regards. It isn’t really something I understand, but I agree that there should be some time of mutual respect and perhaps even liking between the two professions. It would definitely make life easier for both sides.

  2. I feel as though I’m allowed to speak on behalf of both of these fields since I’m pursuing a degree in both! I have found it very interesting–the way PR is portrayed in my journalism courses and the way journalism is portrayed in my PR courses. There is definitely a negative slant associated with the journalists’ perspective–they “have to work with those PR people.”

    The best way I can see it or understand why it is that way, is because journalists feel as though their profession (which held to the high standard of achieving and maintaining credibility, accuracy and objectivity) is infringed upon by public relations. Journalism dates back to nearly ancient time, whereas PR is this innovative and very dynamic field. Our writing styles are doomed to clash too–a straightforward and objective style vs. a subjective and more persuasive style.

    I could go on and on, but I’ll stop there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

