The Importance of Time Management

As this semester hits “crunch” time for many of us, it is important to recognize the importance of time management. When most of us think of going to college, we all probably thought more about the glorious social life and the fun we’d have instead of sitting at our computers for hours.

So how do we decide what is the most important thing to accomplish? Obviously, we are all here to get our education. Not one of us wants to graduate and be unemployed. Here are a few tips I’ve learned recently to help ease the pain of this time.

1. Write a “To-Do” list. (I know this seems basic, but it really helps.)
2. Find the most important thing on the list (either based on time or the amount of work it requires), and start on it.
3. Knock out one thing at a time. Trying to jump projects just makes it seem as though you will never finish. Doing it all individually helps when you look back at the list and see one less thing.
4. Don’t be afraid to take a time out. (THIS IS DIFFERENT FROM PROCRASTIONATION!) If you just work, work, and work some more, you may become a zombie.
5. Reward yourself when you are done. (This reward is up to you…)

I hope this helps!

About kellynbaysinger

I'm a junior Public Relations student with a Marketing minor at the University of Central Missouri with a strong interest in blogging every week for class!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Importance of Time Management

  1. amber0125 says:

    As a self-proclaimed procrastinator, I find these tips very very very helpful. I know that it is in my best interest to apply these tips to my life right now….but maybe it can wait until tomorrow…

  2. Keri Cerda says:

    Time management is one of my biggest issues. Obviously, as I’m posting this at 1:30am. It’s something that I know that I am going to have to improve on, especially since graduation is only a little over 6 months away. I definitely need to work on the one thing at a time thing. I tend to get bored with something and want to move on till it interests me again.

Leave a Reply

