What is THIS!?

Okay, so every time I get ready to blog I somehow end up on my Facebook, Twitter or looking up videos on YouTube.  Tonight, while hanging out with my roommates, I asked them what I should blog about and they replied with: the Cardinals, the new Facebook, and a few other things that I figured others would blog about.  I started to procrastinate a little more and watch a few videos on YouTube.  After a while, I found a series of videos that some kid made of himself singing.  A few of his videos had over a million views, and they were pretty entertaining, but fairly stupid. 

My point is that people become famous from just posting stupid videos of themselves on YouTube.  Anyone can do that nowadays, and I can promise  that if my friends and I really wanted to, we could come up with some videos and make our own series on YouTube and maybe get a decent number of views.  I just don’t get how some videos become so popular when they are so pointless.  I suppose that if someone wants attention, that is one way to get it.  However, some of the videos posted to YouTube are beneficial and there are some very entertaining ones too.  The only thing I use YouTube for is to listen to certain songs, or look up a news clip. 

I suppose this is just a random thought, but it is also something I have asked myself before. 

Check out this link, and you can find this kid singing other songs too.  This kept my roommates and I pretty entertained for a while.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4y7JsvOtYcw&feature=related

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is THIS!?

  1. Keri Cerda says:

    I couldn’t even get past the first minute. It’s sad that there are videos like that getting so many views, and yet some of the more important ones don’t. One of my favorite videos on YouTube is “Dear 16 Year Old Me,” a video trying to raise awareness about skin cancer. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4jgUcxMezM) It only has a little over 3 million views, which seems like a lot, but when you think of how many views other videos get it’s a little sad.

Leave a Reply

