A Killer Resume

I have been working diligently lately on a resume that is sure to get me any internship I want. This has taken a lot of research, however, and I am going to share some of the tips I have found so that you, too, may take your resume from ordinary to outstanding.

1. Do not have one standard resume
                -Tailor your resume to specifics that the company is looking for.

2. Resumes do not have one specific format
                -Make employers say, “Wow, this is different”. You. only have
                  about 20-30 seconds to impress the employer in a stack of 
                  hundreds of resumes

3. Resumes are not necessarily one page
                -You need to highlight all relevant and important information, 
                  do not edit things out just because they do not fit onto one page.

4. Focus on the employer’s needs, not yours
                -You are trying to show that you are the perfect candidate.

5. Replace responsibilities with accomplishments
                -This shows an employer what YOU can do, not any other
                   person at this position.

6. A specific, highlighting objective
                -Be sure to show how your qualities are going to make their 
                  company better, in a very specific manner. It is necessary to 
                  research what the company is actually working towards.

7. Quantify
                -Showing actual numbers is better than making vague statements.

8. Use impressive verbs
                -This is sure to make your resume stand out from the rest.

These are just a few of the tips to ensure that your resume is better than the rest. Do you have any other suggestions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Killer Resume

  1. amber0125 says:

    I don’t have any other suggestions, but I really like all the tips you have given. I am looking to get an internship too and I am definitely going to apply what you have said when updating and refining my resume.

  2. samljohnson says:

    I love this! Great tips! I have been diligently updating my resume every few months since I made it and have been trying to do the whole “one page” thing. Starting to realize that sometimes that is just not possible…

  3. megromer says:

    This “killer resume” post reminds me of the major premise of PR: everything is planned, and everything has a purpose. I do agree that you have to find a way to stand out from the crowd and yet still make a positive impression.

  4. yxl81090 says:

    “Replace responsibilities with accomplishments” Good put! I have to update my summer internship to my resume, and I am going to use the tips that you have provided!

Leave a Reply

