PR: My Conqueror of the World (of Academia)

A previous blog got me thinking about PR in comparison with other majors–more specifically other majors at our university.

I’m constantly excited to share what I’m learning about PR and even better, what I’m doing with it. I’m always telling people, “It’s like this major was made specially for me.”

In the midst of all of my happy-go-lucky, I-found-what-I’m-meant-to-do glee, I find myself exposed to the dark side of college education: discontented and unenthusiastic students dragging themselves through a murky, monotone education. In these instances, it’s not that the degrees themselves are cynical–or a bore even– (I have a ton of respect for other degrees at our university) it’s just that these students pursuing said degrees have mismatched themselves; because these students haven’t found what they are made to do. When you find what you’re meant to do, there are no doubts. Your choice (to you) should conquer all others. These students just need to keep searching for their conqueror.

It’s a shame and I feel pity for people who complain about their degree: suffering from “irrelevant” coursework, trying to deal with crabby, uninvested professors or ill-tempered classmates.

Our PR program is unique in that we (both the students and professors) create a special culture of support, growth and learning between each other. Enthusiasm and effort are assumed of students in our program, leaving no room for grumpy, uninterested students. For the occasional uninvested grump who does find themselves in the PR program, however, it’s safe to say their experience, involvement and reward are minimal, if not nonexistent.

I truly value the rare opportunities UCM’s PR program offers its students, especially our professors. We are so blessed to have the educators (who have one foot in the pool of education and the other currently submerged in the pool of professional “real-life” stuff) we do. Involved. Caring. Enthusiastic. Knowledgeable. (And no, I’m not brown-nosing).

One day I told a friend back in Kansas City, “Oh, well I’ll just Facebook message my professor.” She stared at me blankly. “You’re friends with your professors on Facebook?” Then it was my turn to stare at her blankly as I replied, “You’re not friends with yours?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PR: My Conqueror of the World (of Academia)

  1. mmq99030 says:

    Story of my life! I declared Public Relations as a major my freshman year, first semester. This officially makes me one of those rare few that have ventured through my college years without one (or sometimes several) change in course work. Sometimes I take for granted how lucky I am to be in a field that I love.

  2. yxl81090 says:

    Totally agree! I always wonder why people would waste their time and money on a major they don’t like. I have always loved our PR classes. They can be tough, but most of them were very practical and useful.

  3. Love, love, LOVE Jess!! I couldn’t have said it better myself. I think all of the PR students are so supportive of one another and are excited for what is to come. I think it is awesome when new students come in and want to automatically get involved. Too many times students pick a major and try and stick it out because they think it will get easier, and they think it is really what they want to do – and then when they figure out they are in something totally wrong for them, they are seniors and just want to graduate.

Leave a Reply

