When Did This Happen?!

As I hope you noticed these past two weeks, there was a lot of stuff going on for homecoming. What I am talking about though is the royalty posters, so hopefully you have got to see them.

I had a little break in one of my classes about a week and a half ago so I decided to go look at all of the posters to see who all was running. (And I’ll admit it, to see if anyone’s poster was better than my candidates’.) I started looking at them and without even realizing it, I was evaluating them. For content, for arrangement, for aesthetics, for layout. For what we’ve been told about in classes. My classes have actually rubbed off on me. When did that happen?

I was looking at the posters and thinking:

  • This person’s picture is too small, not enough focus.
  • This person’s poster doesn’t emphasize who is sponsoring them.
  • This one has WAY too much information, and it’s hard to read.
  • This one has WAY too little information.
  • This background makes the text difficult to make out.
  • That picture scares me.

I was going through each poster and taking note of what they did well, but in most cases I was thinking of ways that the posters could have been improved. Especially considering their purpose. For most of the students the only information about the candidates they received was from the posters. If the posters are hard to understand or overload someone, they are probably going to have negative associations with that person. If the posters are easy to understand and aesthetically pleasing, the feelings will be more positive.

What I think makes a good poster is:

  • Color – at least in the picture. This makes the poster stand out and grab your attention.
  • Picture – singular. One is plenty. And make sure it’s the most noticeable thing on the poster.
  • Bullet points -bullets make it easier to read and process the information. No one wants to have to stop and decipher something. It’s not going to get read.
  • Relevant information –  don’t put everything possible on there, but make sure you have enough as well. Limit it to what is really important. if you have 100 things no one is going to want to take the time to read them all – categorize and pick the most important. Conversely, make sure there is enough. If it’s too simple people will think there isn’t anything for you to put on there.
  • Breaking up the information – make sure that it is balanced. Don’t put a picture at the top and then load the bottom with all the information. A centered picture can emphasize it as the focal point.

There are other things that I think make a good poster, but those are the main things I noticed –  thanks to my classes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Did This Happen?!

  1. megromer says:

    I also often notice things like this on official campus announcements. You would think someone would take to the time to “review” a flyer before it is printed. Nobody wants to be overloaded with grainy pictures or too much info.Sometimes, though, if you haven’t been taught to look at the design or layout of a project, people don’t. PR classes definitely help!

  2. This always happens to me. It’s nice to see that our classes actually impact our lives!

Leave a Reply

