Networking is Everything

Amongst the excitement of Homecoming 2011, it has become increasingly evident for me to have as many connections with as many people as possible. While many students were busy doing “certain” college activities, I was able to spend a considerable amount of time with different university officials and distinguished alumni.

To put it simply, I picked the minds of some of these people. It’s interesting to hear about their real-world experiences and find out their suggestions. One of the Distinguished Alumni recipients this year owns his own marketing firm in St. Louis. He gave me tips on how to succeed in the Public Relations world that I would not have gotten from anyone else.

It is experiences like these that can make or break us as students. So remember, take the time to get to know as many people as you can. You never know who you will have the opportunity to rub shoulders with.

About kellynbaysinger

I'm a junior Public Relations student with a Marketing minor at the University of Central Missouri with a strong interest in blogging every week for class!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Networking is Everything

  1. amber0125 says:

    Very good advice. This is something I need to work on and take advantage of in the future whenever I have similar opportunities. As much as I hate to admit it, I think many times it is who you know more than what you know, but a nice mix of both is probably the best.

Leave a Reply

