Big Girl Job Time….???

Graduation is in a little over six months, and it still has yet to hit me that I will be done with my undergraduate degree and able to find that “big girl” job.  I am so ready for it; I want to be done with my current part-time job at Sonic.  Yes, I make good money with all the tips and still making minimum wage, but it really is one of the most stressful jobs ever.  I think the heart of the problem is my boss.  He is so uptight and is actually, very discouraging. 

This past week or two have been insane for me at work.  I work 4-5 days a week and still have classes, homework, and PRSSA obligations.  Our boss has been cracking down and firing girls, so that puts more stress on us because we have to pick up more hours.  Honestly, I do not have time for that.  I have my set schedule, and I do not want to be asked to come in when I have class.  Sorry, I do not want to be a Sonic car-hop the rest of my life.  I want to pursue as much as possible before I graduate to boost my resume. 

The whole point of what I am saying comes from this article I found on what employers should not say to their staff: http://www.businessweek.com/management/ten-things-only-bad-managers-say-09232011.html.  I found this article and automatically thought of my boss, because he says most of the things “bad managers” say.  I am not bashing on him, or trying not to, but when I am told things like “if you don’t want this job, I will find someone who does”, it doesn’t give me much motivation to work.  I have worked for my boss for 6 years come May, and I feel like I get not respect.  I ask off work to attend PRSSA events and out school activities that are only going to help me in the long run, but I get in trouble with my part-time job that I am not dedicated enough.  Like I said, sorry I do not want to spend the rest of my life in Sonic.

Reading this article, and having the recent experience I have encountered, really make me want to consider every aspect of potential work places when I start applying.  The employers need to be encouraging and helpful, not degrading like I have experienced.  I know I will work with people who I do not get along with, but a good manager or boss will make new employees feel welcome and encouraged to work harder. 

This blog was basically me venting about my job, but read the article because I am sure a lot of you can relate with it from a job in your past.

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Girl Job Time….???

  1. I too seem to think about my boss while I am not at work, haha. I think it’s good to vent and get the stress off of your back.

  2. ryanmarler says:

    Was it that dude I went in to talk to the other day? That dude’s attitude seemed like he thinks he’s the most high and mighty person ever with his Sonic job.

Leave a Reply

