What Privacy Do We Have!?

I have recently became a huge Twitter fan, and I would tweet all the time on my Android, until it broke.  I am now using an old phone until I find time to go to the AT&T store to get a new phone.  I am having withdrawals because I cannot tweet on this phone, and I only can on my computer.  It’s crazy how addicted we become to our social media outlets. 

Anyways, my point about Twitter is that I follow many PR professionals, not only in the U.S., but in Europe as well.  Some followed me first, some I found through others or I just am following their organizations.  One guy that goes by “MarkRaganCEO” started following me a month or so age, so I automatically followed him back.  He is a publisher for PR Daily and PR Daily Europe.  This guy tweets all the time, and somehow all of the articles or blogs he post grab my attention and I will read almost all of them.  I was looking through his tweets from the week (I was away from my computer, and didn’t have a phone capable of getting on Twitter), and I came across one about the usual Facebook issue.  This article really grabbed my attention, go ahead and take a look! http://www.prdaily.eu/PRDailyEU/Articles/9658.aspx

The cartoon is really funny, and it’s true!  Anyone can find you through Facebook, and find out anything about you.  Especially with this new timeline feature, I am waiting for a day where I have a lot of time to go through and get rid of a few things!  Facebook tracks where you have been, which is also scary.  At the same time though, it’s where you have been checked in, so that was announced prior to the timeline.  I just think Facebook has become way personal and a obession to many (yes, I am guilty), to where it COULD be dangerous. 

My question is: how can we protect ourselves without deleting our Facebooks completely?  There are privacy settings, but it could possibly not be enough!

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Privacy Do We Have!?

  1. Keri Cerda says:

    I think a lot of the issues that people have with facebook now isn’t so much an issue with facebook, but an issue with what they put on facebook. If it’s not on there, facebook can’t share it with anyone. I know an issue coming up with the new timeline update is that people aren’t super excited about other people being able to go back and see what they posted when they were younger, probably in those angsty high school years and they posted those lovely cryptic, borderline-emo statuses. I think that what facebook used to be is what it should have remained. It started out as a way for college students to connect. Had it stayed that way there would be a lot less issues with it because they majority of the user would have to demonstrate common sense/logic to be able to access the site. Giving anyone over the age of 12(and lets be real, there are people 12 and under on the site) access to a site such as facebook, is dangerous in itself. Thirteen year old’s don’t know what is and isn’t appropriate for these sites, and there isn’t a lot of restriction on what goes on it. I have never been a fan of the Places or Foursquare apps. Why would you want to let someone know exactly where you are, with a map included? If it were really so important that you want to tell people, put it as a status.

    Also on the anyone can find you issue, there are ways to hide your profile from the public searches, so that you don’t show up. You just have to look for it. There is even(or at least there was) a way to prevent friend requests. You can just opt to not get them and have a completely private profile, that no one but “friends” can see.

  2. The answer is no, we do not have any privacy, and social media like facebook, twitter, etc. make it even worse. I find it hilarious that some people have issues with their privacy, yet they will go on facebook and talk about how “wasted” they were, or how big of an idiot they were while drinking. If privacy is the issue, then facebook, and other outlets like this, should be used as a tool for communication, not used to look like a “tool.”

Leave a Reply

