Out With the Old…

After talking with fellow classmates about their internship experiences, I noticed a trend with a few of their comments. Organizations do not seem to be sticking to AP style rules.

Is this because organizations think the rules are outdated? Are they not concerned with rules but of ease for audiences? Or is it out of pure laziness?

I have not yet done my internship, so I do not have an opinion on this subject.

However, I have had one friend tell me that she found many different AP style errors in the messages and press releases disseminated by her company. She, as any eager PR student, pointed out these errors to the main PR professional, however, she did not seem to care. She was told that these rules were outdated, and were not that important because it was easier for readers by not following the AP style rules.

Another friend said that she brought her style book to work each day to double-check her work. Her managers told her that they had never had a worker do this, and didn’t think that it was mandatory to be this tedious. Interesting.

Do you think that organizations should just throw the guidelines that they don’t like out of the book?

Also, do you think that organizations should be teaching interns these habits?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out With the Old…

  1. Keri Cerda says:

    This actually makes me feel a lot better. I took Elements of News Reporting as a sophomore and I was always afraid that I was going to mess something up, making sure to check my Stylebook for almost every other word(that might be a slight exaggeration, but probably not much). While I thing there are some things that should have a standard way to be done, I think that as long as writing follows the rules of basic grammar and logic, its pretty much the same to the people reading it. Most people reading the newspaper aren’t going to be upset, or even know, if something is capitalized correctly.

Leave a Reply

