Miss Missouri – A PR Major

On September 10th I was crowned Miss Spirit of Saint Louis. The last few weeks I have had the opportunity to appear at the Higginsville Country Fair as well as attend the Miss Columbia/Miss Boone County Scholarship Pageant. I have met with my director and have met with Bill Wolfe to pick out my song that I will be playing at Miss Missouri in June. After my talent practice I was honored to sit in on our very own Miss Missouri 2011 Sydney Friar’s lesson. After the lesson I got to talk one on one with Sydney about how her degree in Advertising and Public Relations have helped here with the job of Miss Missouri in the last few months. She said that being able to speak to different organizations has been the hardest challenge but when having the audience in mind when planning her speech always helps.

Thinking about what Sydney said really made me think about what we really can do with our major in public relations. The course work that we go though at University of Central Missouri really is great. For instance, only being a sophomore I have had the opportunity to go through three different press conferences. I think this should be required for all public relation majors across the country because it helps not only if you actually have to give a press conference but also if you have any type of public speaking opportunity.

About hannahkrhoad

A Public Relations Major at the University of Central Missouri with a passion for voluntering & traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miss Missouri – A PR Major

  1. megromer says:

    I agree that UCM’s curriculum has been very experience-driven in that I feel more prepared to friends I talk to at other universities. There seems to be so many “the most important thing[s] to remember,” but one of them for sure is to plan your message with your audience in mind. I am sure that Sydney’s and your experience will help you both later in life.

Leave a Reply

