Holy Nerd.

This past weekend I went to see the movie “Contagion” in theaters.  If you aren’t sure what movie I am talking about then visit this link to watch the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sYSyuuLk5g

The movie is basically about a modern-day deadly disease that is transmitted by touch and contact with other people.  The disease spreads throughout various cities and ends up killing thousands to millions of people.  In the movie there were people acting as PR professionals for World Wide Health Organizations, speaking on behalf of the diseases issues to the public. 

My point is not to talk about the movie, but to point out the fact that during the entire movie I was critiquing the PR person, and thinking of how I would handle the situation if I worked for the health companies.  I know, nerd.  I cannot even watch a movie anymore without thinking like a big kid, but I suppose that is a good thing.  I feel like being a senior in college now, and it the PR program, that my mind has been meshed to really think out of the norm.  I do not feel like this is a bad thing, but I just find it funny that I cannot go to a movie without critiquing the PR actors/actresses. 

There were a few points in the movie where I would agree with what the health PR person was suggesting, and a few times where I thought to myself “why would they ever say that to the public?  He is clearly lying”, but it is just a movie so I didn’t get to caught up in that whole aspect.  I feel like this is the same when I watch the news (which, I have got a lot better about).  I always think of what I would do if I was in that certain situation.  I guess my education here is definitely paying off! 🙂

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Holy Nerd.

  1. That would be the worse job in the world. In fact, if everyone is dying, you wouldnt really need a pr person at that rate. But I get the idea of the movie, but with today’s widespread media coverage and social media, that would be the a huge challenge to stop worldwide panic.

  2. I totally do the same thing. I constantly end up putting myself in the PR situations that I see around me. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I’ll see how the PR person does.

  3. Keri Cerda says:

    I do the same. I was watching a show the other day and they had a PR director for a dress store on and as soon as they characterized her as PR I was paying attention to what she said and did. Sadly it was a negative characterization, where they (rightfully) accused her of trying to spin a story in her company’s favor. She hired actors to come to a sale to make it look bigger than it really was to get press coverage. I was cringing the whole time thinking this is so not what PR is supposed to be.

  4. mwil89 says:

    It is so true that once you take PR classes, you look at the world through the PR lens. In this case, I would literally quit my job and do something else. PR for a flu outbreak that is killing everyone? No thanks. Covering sex boat party scandals is hard enough…

  5. amber0125 says:

    I have found myself doing the exact same thing. Especially with different publications or newspapers that I read. I even find myself fixing typos or grammatical errors in books…I guess that is a good thing, right?

Leave a Reply

