Re-DQ-ulous Absurdity Trend

If you own a television set, it is inevitable that you have noticed the relatively new trend of absurd advertising. Whether it be rapping hamsters or re-DQ-ulous slogans, companies everywhere seem to be harnessing their most annoying marketing trend to date.

Needless to say, public relations professionals have done some research regarding the stickiness of their messages, and somewhere along the line found out that absurdity is memorable. This research brings us commercials such as the following:

Dairy Queen has embraced the absurdity trend full on with their newest advertising campaign. The weirdness of this commercial has already proven to increase brand recognition for the fast food restaurant, but I cannot help but wonder about the reaction of Dairy Queen’s marketing team when someone suggested a “kittens inside of bubbles” approach to their next commercial.

Whether this trend towards the weird sticks around or is gone by next year, salesmen everywhere seem to be taking advantage of it now. This goes to show that marketing and public relations professionals certainly take their research seriously. When they learn that “rockstar falcons” are great at selling car insurance, they put “rockstar falcons” in their commercials. Because the figures do not lie.

After countless commercials that leave the audience wondering “…huh?” it will be interesting to see if this trend sticks around. Personally, I am just more motivated to pay my TiVo and DVR bill every month.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Re-DQ-ulous Absurdity Trend

  1. samljohnson says:

    I personally love these commercials. I think they’re hilarious. However, as much as I love them, I don’t actually go buy DQ because of them. To me, most commercials like this are pure entertainment. They don’t really persuade me into buying/using their product or service.

  2. Keri Cerda says:

    I definitely agree with Sam. The commercials are amusing, but it doesn’t really make me want DQ anymore. What gets me to go to DQ is specials and coupons. No matter how cute or funny their commercials are, they don’t make their product less expensive. I would hope that people would have enough smarts to not be persuaded by a silly commercial. While these commercials are cute they are probably a waste of money.

    I also agree about the DVR. I hate watching commercials, so the majority are wasted on me. I skip right past them. Companies need to come up with a better way to get to their publics than annoying commercials.

  3. nyancatopher says:

    When I first saw these commercials, I wasn’t sure what to think. One side of me thought, wow, these guys are geniuses. Their messages really was out of nowhere and it stuck. Then there was also a part of me that was thinking, uh… Why? It seemed like DQ just said, the heck with it, let’s just be absolutely ridiculous because we REALLY need some attention. Either way, they did make a message that really sticks. However, we’ll see how long it lasts until it gets ridiculously overdone.

Leave a Reply

