Stop to Smell the Roses

This past weekend I attended my hometown Country Fair. The theme this year was, “Coming home to the simple life.” What a theme, that is for sure. Walking down main street in Higginsville I started thinking how simple life could be lived. It seems like people today are bombarded with technology all the time, information available 24/7, they want everything now. What is this doing to our small town communities? It is no wonder why the small towns are growing smaller and the cities are growing larger or why more people fly than drive on vacation. People are in such a hurry to get to where they are going that they don’t have time to stop and “smell the roses along the way.”

When is the last time that you went out and enjoyed the trip getting to your destination? My family has been on a summer vacation every year since I have been in the 1st grade. Out of the last 14 years we have flown only three times, this is the time that we get to enjoy the time with our family. A great quote from the movie Cars, “People used to drive to have a good time, now they drive to make good time”, really sums up what I am trying to say. We need to take a break and relax sometimes and I include myself in this mix, but I encourage everyone to not only stop to smell the roses but actually enjoy them on your next trip.

About hannahkrhoad

A Public Relations Major at the University of Central Missouri with a passion for voluntering & traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stop to Smell the Roses

  1. megromer says:

    I do wonder sometimes how peacful amish life must be. Althought I would never want to live that strictly, I do envy their non-busyness. A little bit about being a photographer is that you notice the little details, so it might come more easily to me than others. One of the ways I keep my sanity is by taking the time to ‘smell the roses.’ People are always asking me to do stuff,and I remind them that I am a busy college student, and don’t have time. However, I do make time to go for walks with my dog and enjoy a tv show at night.

  2. Unfortunately most people do not have the time or money to take trips. But any short little trip can make all the difference. My entire family, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins all take a trip to Branson, MO. every summer. Although not the most lavish of places, it certainly is fun to get away.

  3. Flying can be fun, but road trips are where it is at. My cousin and I have gone on two great ones in the past few years. Nothing beats that time on the highway, reading maps and never knowing exactly what you might run into.

  4. First, I love the Cars reference. 🙂
    Second, I totally agree. In my interpersonal communication class, we talked identified which countries were generally monochronic and which were polychronic. The US definitely classifies as a monochronic culture, meaning Americans view time as a precious commodity. In polychronic cultures, though, time is–not invaluable–but not so highly prioritized or idolized. When I was in South America last year, I was SHOCKED when people would be scheduled to meet us at say, 6:00 and they wouldn’t show up until around 8:00. You’d expect a frantic entrance by the (to me, tardy party) and some type of legitimate explanation. Life or death type scenarios. But no, they just got there at 8:00 because they did. Definitely an eye-opener to differing cultural perspectives and behaviors!

Leave a Reply

