September 9/11 – A letter for my birthday

On September 11, 2001 I turned 10 years old. At that age I was old enough to know what happened to our country but didn’t fully understand what it would mean for the future of our country. A year later we were approaching the one year anniversary of 9/11 and everyone was trying to figure out what they should do, to celebrate or to mourn. I received a letter from the American Girl Magazine company in August that year, that one letter affected my life more than I would ever know. That letter talked about how a little girl had written the magazine for advice on what she should do for that anniversary because her birthday was on 9/11 and she didn’t know if she should be sad for our country or happy for her birthday. With that one letter the company looked through their database and realized that there were several girls that subscribed to their one magazine that all shared the birthday of Sept. 11. The company sent out letters to all of the girls and informed us that there were several other people who shared our birthday and that we should enjoy our birthday even though other people may be sad.

Looking back I have come to the realization that the letter sent out those nine years ago is one reason I am majoring in public relations. Since the day I got that letter I have wanted to work for a company that cares that much for their customers that they would go out of their way for them. The company didn’t have to send out those letters, they could have very easily said forget it, but they kept their customers in mind and they made a difference in lives of so many little girls, including mine.

About hannahkrhoad

A Public Relations Major at the University of Central Missouri with a passion for voluntering & traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September 9/11 – A letter for my birthday

  1. John Peterson says:

    If every company took the time to be this compassionate, the world would be a better place. Nice post Hannah, with people like you in the world I know that their act of kindness will be passed on to other little girls.

  2. megromer says:

    This is a really powerful story. I think after 9/11 a lot of companies were trying to reach out, but it is really impressive that even the youngest of audiences would not be forgotten. I wish I had a story like this to tell when I go on job interviews!

  3. That is a touching story Hannah! It is always so refreshing to hear about high profile companies that take the time to care about the “little” things. Happy belated birthday!

  4. richilajrand89 says:

    Wow Hannah this story is so powerful to all mankind. That company really was sincere in order to send out letters in order to show the little girls that they have compassion for their audience. I understand where you are coming from because my niece was two years old when this occured, and every year she wonders what she will do for her birthday. Sometimes she gets sad because people tell her that she has bad luck because her birthday is on 09/11, but I had to explain to her that she is the luckiest girl in the world. This story is so touching, I love this story, and Happy belated birthday to you!!!

Leave a Reply

