Anger.

I found this article when thinking about what I should blog about:

http://www.instituteforpr.org/topics/ethics-and-public-relations/

In this article it states that there is no such thing as ethics in PR, and it is known as an oxymoron.  PR is talked about in the sense of “spinning” and “lying”, so it is all unethical (historically).  Going through this program I have gained a lot of respect for the field and I know it is what I really want to do.  I do not like to lie, I am not very good at it.  Yes, we have to put on a face for a company and make it look good, but it doesn’t mean we have to lie and trick people. 

I just do not like when anyone talks down on what I am interested in, and I am pretty sure I can speak for most everyone in our department.  Just glancing through this article, the “Such Thing as Ethics in PR” ethics, I knew what I wanted to say.  I can see why people who are not educated in the field of PR think what we do is spin information, but PR is not a negative aspect in a company like some believe.  It really bothers me when I bring up my major/minor to new faces and they automatically come back with stupid responses such as “Oh, so you are a good liar!?”.  No, actually, I am not.  Our job is the put a good brand and feeling with the company, not to lie to make it look like something it is not.  We save face, not lie.

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anger.

  1. Keri Cerda says:

    I think that this relates back to what several of us have said over the last few weeks: People don’t really know what PR is. Last winter I went to New China with my dad and Ping asked what I was studying at UCM and when I told her Public Relations my dad felt the need to add “Whatever that means.” People are really uneducated when it comes to what PR is and does, they seem to see it as the sneakier and less ethical sibling of advertising and marketing, when really it’s the opposite. Not to say that people involved in advertising are unethical liars, but they are more interested in selling the product of a company while PR is more selling the brand and company as a whole. Advertising gets them to buy into a product or idea, when get them to trust the company or person.

  2. Keri Cerda says:

    *While we get them to…

    (not when)

Leave a Reply

