Geico & Google Chrome

First, watch the 30 second commercial.

“15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance.” We’ve probably all heard this slogan before. It appears on every Geico commercial. Geico uses a common way to capture an audience’s attention: humor. I don’t think I’ve  ever seen a serious Geico commercial. However, I dont actually know anyone personally who uses Geico’s services and I have never felt the desire to look into it. It makes me wonder: Do companies waste money on these kinds of commercials? Is this really a good tactic? If not, what is?

Here is another commercial, by Google Chrome.

This commercial left me with a different reaction. I actually might want to try this someday. It was creative and emotional (but serious) and made it seem so realistic and simple. I don’t have Google Chrome, but that commercial made me want it.

Watching different commercials during football on Sunday gets me wondering why certain things appeal to me and why others don’t, what are good strategies, which is better: humor or serious… Commercials are actually interesting when you dissect it like that. Just one way to keep myself entertained while waiting for the game to come back on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Geico & Google Chrome

  1. rms33390 says:

    I usually connect better with emotional/serious commercials. Some of the humorous commercials, while they may be funny, make absolutely no sense to me and it is hard for me to remember what they are even advertising. The google chrome commercial helps you experience what they want you to do, while the geico commercial just left me with one eyebrow raised.

  2. mwil89 says:

    Definitely the reason why commercials during your favorite shows hit you most is because you are watching a show where the ads base the demographics on the kind of people that watch the show. Does that make sense? If I watch a kids cartoon the commercials in between will probably be for toys and movies aimed at the general audience that watches the show, making the commercial have a greater impact. Demographics are scary and totally awesome.

  3. Keri Cerda says:

    Now that you mention it I can only think of one family I know that uses Geico, and I am fairly certain that it had nothing to do with the commercials.
    I think for the most part commercials are somewhat of a wast these days. They cost a lot to produces and I don’t think they have as much impact as they used to. At home we have satellite and a DVR, so we can pause or record shows and skip the commercials. That’s what I do. I don’t like watching commercials. If I do happen to watch something live, I’ll doing something else while commercials are on, like check Facebook or my e-mail on my phone.

Leave a Reply

