Facebook & Privacy

The whole connotation of social media has definitely changed over the past few years. I remember in middle and high school it was “bad” to have a Facebook because it could incriminate you for a job. I remember there being news stories about the danger of online disclosure, especially in the instance of sexual predators. Facebook tried to assuage these concerns with the ‘friends only’ account setting which isn’t public to just anybody. Now, if you don’t have a Facebook and LinkedIn account, employers often overlook you, especially in the PR field.

It’s really funny to me how this has happened. But, as with all change, we are forced to adapt or be left behind. Corporations have embraced the idea of social media, due to its direct line to a certain audience, despite the trendiness it may imply. Facebook provides easy updates on an organization and delivers it to a place where users visit almost daily.

I used to pride myself on being a private person. I didn’t want a Facebook. I wanted people to do this absurd thing…I wanted them to talk with me, and then we could share in mutual disclosure. But, Mark Zuckerberg convinced the world that all you have to do is read someone’s profile and you can find out a lot about them. Sometimes it creeps me out that people can know so much about me. I still think just because you read my Facebook profile that you don’t know me. Sometimes people’s info pages scare me. Sometimes it’s just too much information.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Facebook & Privacy

  1. yxl81090 says:

    I agree! It also makes me mad when Facebook keeps changing its privacy settings without informing its users.

  2. samljohnson says:

    I too am amazed at how much people disclose on their info pages at times. I think Facebook can be a good “surface view” of who someone is but some people take it way too far. The best way to get to know someone is in person.
    Also, I actually like that some employers use Facebook to check out prospective employees. I keep my page clean and positive for that reason.

  3. I am in complete agreement. I don’t think a potential employer has any right to you by your PERSONAL facebook page. If it is a company facebook page then obviously they have a right to monitor it, but your personal life should not be under the organization’s supervision.

  4. scottspiegel says:

    When people sign up for a Facebook account, they should know that they are giving up some (maybe a lot of) privacy. I really hate when people complain that they have no privacy on Facebook. If you want privacy, you shouldn’t have a Facebook.

    But yes, I agree that social media has changed vastly over the years. It is now a very useful tool to market businesses as well as people.

Leave a Reply

