“Do you ever put your phone down!?”

As much as I love the days where I am relaxing with my friends, with nothing that HAS to be down, I also love the days where I am constantly busy and have my “to do list” ready in my planner.  I feel like within the PR department, “free time” isn’t exactly something a lot of us have.  Between work, school, outside projects, and PRSSA I feel like I have little to no free time.  My free time goes to my friends and sleeping or working out.  After reading a classmates blog, I knew exactly what I wanted to talk about. 

Working in the PR world, you are constantly on the go.  I feel like we crave the stress and craziness of it all.  Certain people cannot handle stress, but sometimes if I am not stressed, I feel like something is wrong with me.  If I am not in class or at work, my phone is in my hand or close by at all times.  I may be texting, checking my Facebook or Twitter.  I get a lot of random followers that are PR organizations or professionals, and I always will follow them back.  Most of my tweets come from organizations or professionals tweeting constantly.  A lot of the catch lines are extremely interesting and I cannot help but to read it, especially if it has advice for future college graduates.  They really like to target us, because they know we will read it. 

My parents always ask me, “do you ever put your phone down, Cassie?”, and I usually just ignore them and keep on updating myself with what is new.  I feel empty when I cannot check my latest tweets, it may be just me, I could just be anxious and never sit still, I don’t know.  I guess I really have two points to this blog: in this industry, we crave what’s “new” and “now” and the stress of it all, and that cell phones keep us in contact with the world on a daily basis and it would be hard to not be all caught up on what is going on.

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Do you ever put your phone down!?”

  1. mat11160 says:

    I completely agree, as PR people we are in constant need of updates of what is going on in the world because we can’t fall behind on what is going on. Right now it seems like little things but keep updated at all times I feel will actually help us later on in PR because we will always insist on being updated on everything to do with our clients.

  2. amber0125 says:

    I agree with you as well, but for some reason the fact that we always have to be connected is one thing that slightly bothers me about the expectations of public relations. There are times when I would much rather be away from my phone and from all the updates with everything going on, but I guess that is just something I’ll have to deal with and learn how to work around as I continue in this profession.

  3. YES! PR people (hopefully) are natural multi taskers and crave being “in the know.” I would be nowhere if I didn’t have my planner, cell and daily to-do list in hand for each day! Moments (I used to get every so often–not anymore though) where I didn’t have my next item on the agenda pressing on my current time slot, felt strange and foreign. And uncomfortable. What do you do if there aren’t things “to-do” or get done?

  4. mmq99030 says:

    I completely understand where you are coming from! I feel like I spend the majority of my days stressing about the plethora of things I need to get done, and complaining about my hectic lifestyle. However, when a rare free day comes around I am practically tearing my hair out looking for something to do! Maybe this will help me in my future profession, maybe it will just make me tired.

  5. richilajrand89 says:

    I totally would have to agree with you and I absolutely understand where you are coming from!!! As double majoring in Public Relations and Corporate Communication I feel as if I am always busy I feel like I have to actually find time to sleep. My life is considered like a roller coaster some of my days are up or either down, but I love the fields that I have choose for my careers. Therefore, sleep does not matter to me at all because I know that my hard work will pay off in the future. I have trouble trying to keep up with the technology because there is so many cool things out, such as smart phones and iPad’s. Where will technology take us in the world next? I would have to agree with Maggie it will help us in the future. I will never put my phone down except for being in class because I feel like I will miss out on a lot of news.

Leave a Reply

