Where Do I Start?!

I was trying to come up with at topic – and I came up with nothing. There are so many things that I could talk about, but where am I supposed to start?

As I was thinking that, it came to me. That’s a big part of what PR is: figuring out where to start. There are so many things that happen in PR that a lot of the time there are SO many ways to handle it, so many things that could be done. There isn’t just one way, no one right way because it depends on the person, the organization or idea being represented, on so many different factors that figuring out a starting point can be so daunting.

What you need to figure out is what exactly it is that you are trying to do. It takes time to develop a style, a way of handling things that is your own. Think about the end result you want, ask yourself the million little questions that you have. Come up with answers that you like and can work with. Mold them so that they reflect your message in a manner that coincides with you main goal. Essentially, take baby steps. Once you have a starting point, all you have to do is fill in the rest.

We are just starting out in this field and it’s okay that it seems like there are an unending amount of possibilities. We have been brought us up in an age that has taught us that there is one right way. But that isn’t true, especially in PR, there are so many different ways to handle something and until we get the hang of it it might take us some time, but we’ll get there eventually.

Vague criteria use to freak me out becasue I would be so worried that I would get it wrong. But I’ve come to enjoy it because it lets me be creative and show who I am in my work. If everyone is given a rigid set of instructions that they have to follow, then everyone will end up with the same bland answer and that is definitely not what PR is supposed to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Do I Start?!

  1. I have never been a straight A student so it never worried me getting things wrong. My parents always told me to “do my best” and that if I tried my hardest then that was all that matters. PR is not about the grades, you’re so right in this post. It’s about getting a handle on how YOU work things. All of the steps are the same, but how you handle them may be different than another person. Just own it. Do your best – nothing less.

Leave a Reply

