Dancing Hamsters

Another type of publicity I feel are commercials. There are all types of car commercials. It makes sense for car companies to be advertising their vehicles; I mean, how else would people learn about the different types of cars…besides looking at different dealerships, and let’s face it, who has time for that? There’s the Subaru “you never forget your first love” commercials, the “built Ford tough” commercials, the (in a whispering voice)“zoom zoom” commercials, and then there is the dancing hamster Kia commercials.

The dancing hamsters are the reason for my post. It was really hard not to laugh at these life-size hamsters rapping and jamming in the little Kias. I’m not sure if the advertisers were trying to catch my attention (they certainly did), or to humor me. I still think the dancing Kung-Fu fighting hamsters are funnier, though.  However, when I saw the commercial, I just thought it was stupid, and I said to myself, I would never want to drive the ‘hamster car.’

Before this series of commercial, I remember Kia commercials, especially the Kia Sorento which would compare itself to the Lexus SUV or the Honda CRV and Kia highlighted it’s 10-year, 100,000 mile warranty. At least with these commercials, I knew what made Kia different/better from its competition. I’m not sure what the hamsters teach me. My apologies to those of you who may drive the Kia Soul.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

