Adopt-A-Puppy Commercials make me sad!

On Friday afternoon after work, I rushed home to shower and head to St. Louis with my roommates for the weekend.  My roommate, Liz, is from O’Fallon and that is a solid two and half hour drive from Warrensburg.  I was extremely tired from the lack of sleep from the night before, so I knew I was bound to pass out in the car fairly quickly.

Once the three of us hit I 70, I was out.  I usually don’t have dreams during my “naps”, but this time I did.  I am not sure if it was from talking about commercials and ads appealing to emotions in class Wednesday, but I had a dream about those “Adopt-A-Puppy” or “Save A Puppy” commercials on TV.  In my dream, I was crying.  However, I don’t think I really was crying in the car.  Whenever I woke up from my “nap” we were in the Columbia area and the first ad I saw on a billboard was for a local animal shelter.  I thought to myself that it must be a sign because I have wanted a puppy for a while now.

I have had dogs in my past, but they have all passed away.  My roommate has a dog, but I have been begging my parents for my own for the longest time, and I think I may have them somewhat convinced now.  So, anytime I see one of the slow music, sad puppy commercials, I literally will cry and I never cry.

My point for this blog is really just how effective advertising can be when it appeals to emotion.  People give into their emotions frequently, so commercials and ads that are close to the viewers hearts are usually extremely convincing.  In class when we were discussing the emotional appeal, I automatically thought of the puppy commercials.

Like I said, I think it is a sign.

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adopt-A-Puppy Commercials make me sad!

  1. Those commercials do the same to me! Every time I see one I want to go get a puppy so freaking bad. I guess their emotional appeal really sticks on those commercials.

  2. hannahkrhoad says:

    Wow, you know that it is an effective message when you start seeing the the commercials in your sleep!

  3. mwil89 says:

    Hahahaha, Futurama parodied that in the future, advertisements play in your dreams.

    http://www.comedycentral.com/videos/index.jhtml?videoId=156516&title=lightspeed-briefs

  4. yxl81090 says:

    Those puppy commercials make me sad everytime! Sometimes I have to switch the channel so I won’t feel so bad about it. The commercials really succeeded in sticking the emotional message to the audiences.

Leave a Reply

