READ THE NEWSPAPER!

Last week in my Case Studies class, my professor asked the class who all reads the newspaper. I was one of two people, or so, who did not raise their hand. Essentially, he told us that to be an effective PR practitioner we need to read the news paper to know what is going on in the world. I laughed to myself at what he had told us, and told myself that I would continue to pick up newspapers to do the puzzles in between classes.

Today, as I was reading through others’ blog posts, I noticed that I had not idea about most of the stuff in the news that they were writing about. Not to mention I had a hard time thinking of a topic to write about. Although I find most of the news this day and age not news worthy, I found out first hand that it definitely pays to know what is going on.

Reasons PR people should read the newspaper:

  • Keep up with new trends
  • To know what is going on outside of your organization
  • Learn from others’ mistakes
  • Get to know how the journalists write in case you decide to pitch a story to them
  • News about your organization
  • News that could affect your organization
About ryanmarler

I paint the sky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to READ THE NEWSPAPER!

  1. Instead of reading a newspaper, I would rather read online. Its more up to date and is easier for me to have access to. The points you made can pretty well apply to websites such as USAToday.com or Times.com

  2. dsl03110 says:

    Being in that class, I was didn’t raise my hand to who picks up the newspaper daily either. But, I am constantly looking at CNN or MSNBC to see what is happening in the world. I just think it is easier for me to look at the articles online, that way if a story does interest me I can research other news outlets to find more about that subject or topic. Even though that journalists are suppose to be unbiased and tell the story, you cannot always gaurantee that they are telling the entire story.

  3. I was also one of those few who did not raise their hand. I completely agree with everything you stated in your post because I am having the hardest time thinking of what to write about as well. I feel like subscribing to a certain news site would help me (and maybe you, too) keep up with everything. After all, we will be in the “real world” here shortly with our big boy and big girl jobs, so there is not much time to lose. Keeping up with what is going on is particularly important in our field, and I feel behind because everyone else seems to know exactly what they are talking about!

  4. hannahkrhoad says:

    Knowing what is going on in the world is a part of being a public relations professional but it really should be something everyone does. I think that this is one skill that the majority of our generation is lacking. With the technology today we have so much information coming at us that at many times people don’t read the story they only look at pictures. We need to take time if not at least once a week to sit down and really look at the news around us.

  5. Keri Cerda says:

    This is a subject I struggle with too. I remember probably on the first day or at least during the first week of Intro to PR with Dr. Horn, we were told to start reading newspapers and watch the news. I don’t remember the last time I did either. The only “news” I get is from the news feed on my FB or emails from sites like MTV, not really what is considered news.
    I know that it is important for not only career reasons but I think for simply being a more well-rounded person. Being aware of what is going on in the world is the only way to have an opinion on it.

Leave a Reply

