Persuasion: Beliefs and Attitudes

The first day of lecture in class we discussed persuasion and what we thought publicity is.  I thought for a few seconds on what my views were, and by that time somebody had already said what I was thinking about!  This really isn’t my point, but we all have been through the same program so we have similar views on what these words mean. 

What really got me thinking was the difference between beliefs and attitudes.  I started contemplating in my head about how to deal with people in the work place when they have complete opposite beliefs than you do.  Changing someones attitude on a subject is easier than changing their belief because that is how they are brought up.  The beliefs are the roots of a certain person. 

When it comes to the “real world” when it is time to get our big kid jobs, I feel like you need to research the company you may or want to work for because knowing their background/mission and their beliefs will be important.  People can’t work well in an environment where the organization may support a belief that as a worker, you don’t.  For example, I wouldn’t want to work in PR at an animal shelter that is for the euthanization of animals, because I do not support that belief.  People and coworkers may be able to change my attitude on the subject, but I wouldn’t be able to change my belief.

About cassieljackson

I am a senior at the University of Central Missouri majoring in Corporate Communication, with a minor in Public Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Persuasion: Beliefs and Attitudes

  1. hannahkrhoad says:

    I agree that you really need to research who you work for before you apply because if you don’t you might end up working for a company that has aspects that go against your own personal beliefs.

  2. mwil89 says:

    I have had a client tell me to “Spin” the information in their favor, which made me think back to the very first day of PR class where Dr. Horn told us we are NOT spindoctors. Really though I was kind of conflicted with this as it really isn’t what I believed in, kind of like how you wouldn’t support something you didn’t believe in. I don’t know though, a paycheck is a paycheck in some aspects but you have to find a compromising line I suppose where you still can keep your beliefs and integrity while working with something you may not be comfortable with.

     - One Cool Dog

Leave a Reply

